How to trigger a build in the test project upon a commit to dev project with Travis CI API

Hi,

I am working on JavaScript and Node.js project. In my project, the dev code of the product and an automated test script framework is placed in different GitHub repositories.
Now, the issue is that I don’t know how to run my test script if any commit is pushed to the Dev repository. As we need to add the .travis.yml file in the repository from where the build will trigger.

I contact the support team they said “you may consider using the API to trigger a build from one repo to another.”

As I’m very new to Travis-ci so, I have no idea how to deal with API.

Can anyone help me to make things happen and can provide more clearance about the things from where I need to start.

Thanks in advance !!

It’ll probably be easier to make the test repo a submodule of the dev repo, or check it out manually in the build logic in the dev repo.

• (The practical difference is: for a submodule, the SHA of the test repo commit to check out is held statically in Git metadata in the dev repo, while if you check it out manually, you can check out whichever commit you want. On the other hand, Travis checks out submodules automatically by default and if you don’t hold the test commit info in Git metadata, you’ll still need to hold the info necessary to make a decision somewhere).
  • Then the dev build logic will call the necessary script to run the tests from the resulting checkout.

This way, you’ll see the test result right in the build for the dev commit. If you trigger a build in the test repo instead, that build will have the test result and you won’t readily see in the dev project if a particular commit is good or not.

Now, for your specific question:

For how to trigger a Travis build via API, see Triggering builds with API V3 - Travis CI .
You’ll need to

• give the dev build a Travis token with access to the test project (as a secret variable) to authenticate the request;